At First I Was Afraid, I Was Petrified…

I really was… I never thought I’d survive thirty whole days without even one cup of coffee… And, I did it the Bear Grylls way… Hardcore, survivor style! I translated “Coffee free” to mean no coffee, not even decaf, no coffee flavoured items, no cappuccino muffins *insert sad face here*, not even the new coffee infused Bar One (a.k.a my kryptonite… Nescafe and Bar One? Together? How did Nestle discover my only weakness?) I was ruthless!

This morning I woke up with a new spring in my step… which was surprising after a month of Rooibos tea and a long week with some fantastic highs and gut wrenching lows, a week that was in sore need of copious amounts of coffee.

I woke up at 6:15am today, yes, on a Saturday and was out the door by 7am… without a cup of coffee… No one is more shocked than me but I figured if I’m going to break this fast I’m going to do it right. No hasty cup of instant coffee slurped down as I’m trying to remember if my jeans or my shoes go on first (although a strong coffee would have helped solve that dilemma faster). So as the busyness of the day started drawing to a close I saw my opportunity to brew the perfect cup and savour it too.

At precisely 17:14 today I filled the coffee pot, put it on the stove and took my favourite mug out of the cupboard. I took deep, greedy breaths of that incredible aroma as I waited impatiently for it to boil. Eight minutes later I sat down on the couch cradling a steaming, aromatic cuppa in my two hands… Why two hands? It felt too nonchalant to hold it by the handle, I felt the need to cherish this rare and beautiful treasure.

The end of a coffee free month

I couldn’t help myself, my eyes automatically fluttered closed as I took the first sip… I swear I felt it warm my soul! Something so good cannot be bad for you… It was teamed with a coffee infused Bar One and I was in my happy place, just like that! You could have asked me for anything in that moment, my Jamie Oliver cookbook collection, or my exercise bike, and I would have given it to you… Nah, just kidding! I would never give up my exercise bike, it’s far too useful for holding my clean washing till I pack it away.

So what, if anything, did I learn in my thirty coffee free days?

I think I basically learned two things; I can go without coffee for thirty days and I never want to go without coffee for thirty days again.

So where does this leave me on my thirty before thirty list? I am down to 27 things to go and a lot less time than I started out with! Better get cracking!

Now, what to do next? Any suggestions?

  1. Start a blog… CHECK! In case you are confused, you’re reading it…
  2. Ride on a bus, train and a taxi. I argued for this to be three separate entries, to no avail.
  3. Go to a concert
  4. Get a tattoo… A real one…
  5. Pop popcorn on the stove without a lid on the pot… Always wanted to do this!
  6. Watch a movie trilogy in one sitting
  7. Milk a cow… even as I type this I’m thinking of how I am so not farm girl material
  8. Write a message, put it in a bottle and toss it out to sea
  9. Have a photo that I’ve taken professionally framed
  10. Get my legs waxed for the first time
  11. Walk up Lion’s Head
  12. Wear a dress to work
  13. Cook a three course Jamie Oliver meal
  14. Road Trip
  15. Go coffee free for 30 days
  16. Memorise a poem
  17. Make Sushi
  18. Spend an entire day in my PJ’s
  19. Take 10 photos that I love
  20. Watch an entire season of any series in one day
  21. Host a dinner party
  22. Send someone a handwritten letter
  23. Go fishing
  24. Donate Blood (haven’t been able to donate for a while for health reasons)
  25. Go Camping
  26. Eat breakfast, lunch and dinner together as a family on the same day
  27. Successfully make an origami something
  28. Do at least one DIY project
  29. Volunteer somewhere for one hour
  30. Watch the sunrise with friends
3 thoughts on “At First I Was Afraid, I Was Petrified…

  1. 1ell done Sarah. Chalk it up to a good experience. I duggest 5 & 6. You can enjoy the popping then eat the popcorn X3 while you watch the movie X3. And enjoy a coffee and bar-one as well. I would watch Star Wars (trilogy X2) over the long weekend.

Leave a Reply

